Whole30 Common Misconceptions

Today is my day 20, which means I’m 2/3 of the way through by the end of tonight! Throughout this process, anyone I have talked to who is not in my Whole30 support clan have said many things. Some supportive, but some extremely common misconceptions, and I would like to squash these misconceptions:

  • That sounds so hard – It’s not hard!! It is hard waking up day after day with little to no energy and to crash after your meals. Buying your food for the week and cooking your meals is so worth it, especially when you have the energy to do it!
  • That sounds like so much prep – This all depends on YOU. If you can not live without condiments and certain things, then it might be. However, the Whole30 should also be an exploration into foods that you don’t normally eat that can be delightfully surprisingly delicious (and nutritious). For example, no combination of eggs and veggies could ever be boring to me. Cook with herbs, cook with spices, get hot sauce that’s compliant. But, don’t rely on things that you would’ve eaten pre Whole30 that might lead you to fall into a trap. If you’re eating cauliflower rice because you miss rice, that might lead to a pitfall post Whole30. Eat cauliflower rice because it’s easy to cook and will not make cooking frustrating. I’m a purist in that I truly enjoy the taste of vegetables no matter how they come and will not go the extra mile to prep them otherwise. However you go about your Whole30 by day 12-16, you’ll have so much energy, I’m sure you won’t mind the prep.
  • It sounds like you’re going to be eating air – I’ve been eating MUCH more on the Whole30 than I have been the past few years. There are so many options and the inclusion of a protein at every meal ensures that I am getting enough to eat. I mean, I get this comment when I say I’m pescatarian. I’ve learned about a gamut of vegetables that keep me entertained. But speaking of loading up on protein it leads to…
  • It sounds like you’re going to blow up on all that protein – I, in fact, have stayed away from the scale (surprisingly) so I don’t know if I’ve “blown up”. However, when I catch my reflection in the mirror, I do feel I “look” more lean. My workout progress pics have become a bit stagnant, but my body feels firmer. For what it’s worth, my pants are also looser. It’s the same science behind any sort of eating…you should eat as much as you need and more if you’re working out. I am much more aware of my body and my body knows when to tell me that I’m hungry. Which leads to…
  • You must be hungry all the time – I feel much fuller (emotionally and physically. Whole30 gently nudges me to eat before I ever get into the hangry stage because I am much more mindful of the signals my body is sending me.
  • What about drinking– This all depends on the friends you have. If you have friends who will only hang out with you if you drink, then maybe it’s time to reevaluate friendships. Luckily, most adults are respectful of other adults’ decisions.
  • I’m thinking about starting it, but I have “xyz” event planned – There is no better time to start than NOW! I could’ve waited for after my Texas trip or wedding to start this, but I am so glad I didn’t wait. Now I have more energy and clarity and less anxiety when it comes to wedding planning. In fact, our DJ had to hand us off to another DJ recently and I did not so much as bat an eyelash. I feel like before, this would’ve bothered me.
  • I could never do that – Trust me, the non believer in me would be able to have told you the same thing a few years ago. “I could never wake up at 4:30 to start my workouts before work” “I could never not eat sugar”, but you can! When you see the benefits of both working out and eating healthy and what it does to your mindset and energy, I doubt you’ll ever want to turn back. In fact, our clan has been hashing out what we are going to do after this Whole30 thing. One thing is for sure, I’ve learned to stay away from toxic foods. In turn, it’s also helping me learn how to recognize toxic behavior in others and how to deflect it.
Leave a Reply

