80% vs 20%

I remember in my nutrition class for school, our teacher kept reiterating that 80% of the population knows what it takes to be healthy and only 20% actually follow the guidelines. Well, I’m definitely in that 20% and I am just going to say, it is SO worth it! It helps that my friends have also reached this level of clarity, energy, and overall kick-assedness.  I’m not sure if I ever want to go back to how I was eating before, even though it was considered “healthy”. I don’t think anything would stop me from continuing to eat this way. I am way more in tune with my body and for the first time ever, food fuels me. I’ve always felt sluggish after a meal and have on occasion, just passed out after eating. Now, I know when I need food and my body thanks me for the food I’m putting into it. So, now that I have all this energy, I feel like I can accomplish anything (including cleaning the house and doing all of mine and my fiance’s laundry on a weekday). Today, I got a surprise observation by my principal (which usually completely gives me anxiety), and I couldn’t feel more confident and alert. But “tiger blood” is not immune to everything, as evidenced from my energy dip after Austin, TX. So, my word of caution is to be mindful of how much you are taking on and knowing when to harness the energy to relax. I did cut down my portions (not on purpose, I think I’m just feeling less hungry) and I also think that contributed to my two sluggish days. So, I’m amping it back up to compliment my workouts. Below are some of the meals I’ve had these past few days…

FullSizeRender-3.jpgFullSizeRender-5.jpg

(Left) Salmon with a cilantro/olive oil/lemon juice blend, kale, spaghetti squash, zucchini, tomatoes and mushrooms. (Right) – Kale, scallops, cauliflower and broccoli rice with eggs and green onion.

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

Today’s seafood blend mixed with oregano, lemon, and salsa with brussel sprouts and tomatoes.

Takeaways from the day:

  • It’s nice to have friends who understand this new sense of clarity. In fact, it feels a bit pretentious to talk about how great I feel to other people.
  • My relationship with food has changed a LOT.
  • I now feel the need to share with EVERYONE what they can cut out when they tell me a body ailment. But, I totally refrain.
  • Today, I tried to convince some of my students to do this as a science experiment for the science fair.
  • My mindset has changed completely and I am consumed with staying healthy. My priorities have become working out and eating Whole30
  • I’m exactly one month away from my wedding, so of course that is my other priority :).
Leave a Reply

