My Keys to Prep

I’ve mentioned in my very first Whole30 post that prep is not my thing. I hate eating leftovers. So, the way I prep for my Whole30 has to be extremely accessible and convenient for me. I would recommend this for anyone, but remember, I enjoy the natural flavors in much of my produce and have mentioned how boring my tastes can be. I’ll make another post about how much Trader Joe’s is my best friend, but TJ is heaven sent for my prep life. My first step would be go to TJ and get as much of the processed produce (pre-cut) as possible. I wouldn’t do the onions though, I feel weird about that.

To preface how I prep, I prefer as much hands off time as possible. So, here are my tips and tricks to hassle-free prep.

Stovetop

  • Hard Boiled Eggs – Place eggs in pot, cover with water, bring the pot to a boil on medium high and let it boil for 2 minutes, bring the heat all the way down to barely a simmer and set the timer for 12 minutes. If you have a great gas stovetop, you can turn the heat off after 2 minutes and let the eggs just sit for 12 minutes, it will turn out perfect.
  • Steam Kale – Steamed kale will last a few days and if you steam a huge batch at once, you won’t have to worry about massaging it for salads. I steam about a full bag at once with lemon juice and salt and pepper. It can be added to salads and pretty much any meal. If you haven’t tried it, this is amazing with tahini and if sesame seeds (which I think are an “in moderation” Whole30 approved.

Put everything in the oven at once (see below)

  • Spaghetti Squash- I eat this more for convenience than I do for any pasta craving. It’s a huge squash, you slice it, set it face down on a pan with some water and put it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. Your result, is about 5 servings of vegetables (that come out like stringy spaghetti) that you can mix with about any other vegetable. I even put it cold in my salads to add texture and depth. I find this squash to be superior to butternut or other squashes because it’s much lighter, goes with everything, and yields so much more.
  • Sweet Potatoes – Wrap them in foil and cook them for about an hour at 350. I unwrap them and slice them to eat cold. The skin has lots of nutrients, but if you’re not one for skin, scoop it out and eat it like ice cream (but don’t pretend it’s ice cream, because that’s not Whole30 kosher.
  • Salmon/other fish- Place salmon on foil paper, drizzle with olive oil, season with whatever you want (I love it with sliced tomatoes and thinly sliced lemons on top). Wrap the foil to create a pocket and bake for 20 minutes. You can eat the salmon as is, or save it to shred into a salmon salad. This is my favorite way to cook salmon because, it’s easy and mess free.
  • Brussel Sprouts – I like to slice mine in half, put it in the oven with sliced tomatoes, drizzle with olive oil and balsamic and let it bake for about 35-40 minutes.

Protein Salads

  • Egg Salad – I add olive oil, diced celery, green onion, cubed apples, and salt and pepper.
  • Tuna Salad- I get canned tuna in water, add diced celery, olive oil, green onion, sliced grapes, and salt and pepper.

One major benefit to eating a pescatarian diet is that both seafood and eggs are VERY efficient to cook. Vegetables don’t take much time at all either, but the ones that I listed above are heartier ones that I have on hand always because they last and I enjoy them. You can pretty much accomplish that whole list in the span of about 2 hours. I really just make my protein salads and hard boiled eggs at the beginning of my week. As I cook off seafood, I’ll add the other vegetables if I use the oven. I know this is all super simple, but I hope it helps, somewhat!

Leave a Reply

