Eat with your Eyes!

After tonight, I will have successfully completed Week 1 of Whole30. I woke up this morning feeling nauseous, but I still woke up at around 5:30AM without any problems in my energy. I attribute the nausea to one of two things 1) sugar withdrawal 2) I ate way too early last night and not enough. Whatever the cause, after having my post breakfast tea, I was back to pretty much normal. I spent all day in a training today for work, and there were some snacks and pastries that I most definitely would’ve automatically grabbed before, but I didn’t (silent cheer). They even had healthy snacks like bananas and carrots, but I was able to hold over until lunch time.

I think my main craving struggle comes at about after 3PM (like my normal after school time). Today I had to stop by the mall to pick up something and Oh my GOODNESS the SMELLS!!! Cinnamon pretzels, french fries, Mrs. Fields, Panda Express, it was teeming with temptation. I took a huge whiff and thought to myself, just imagine how you’ll feel AFTER you eat those foods, which made it relatively easy to pass on. Even though I normally avoid the mall, this gave me more of a reason to avoid the mall if at all possible (which shouldn’t be hard).

Today was an exciting food day for me, I’m definitely an “eat with your eyes” person. If it looks pretty, it’ll taste even prettier to me. I loved the frittata I made for dinner, simply because it was pretty. I think because it was pretty, it made it taste even better!  I also picked up sweet purple potatoes last week and just roasted them and cut them up and portioned them in both my breakfast and lunch. If I could put that on something every day, I would. I didn’t even season them, but they’re freaking gorgeous…see?

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Taste and texture-wise, they’re similar to a japanese sweet potato, so a little drier and less fibrous and stringy than a yam. I didn’t season them at all and they were perfect for me (because I’ve said it before I’m a plain eater). After dinner today, my fiance and I both agreed, that we really don’t mind eating like this. (Although, he’s not following the plan with me, but from what he tastes so far).

So, here is my food laid out for the day:

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs with sauteed kale over a bed of arugula and purple sweet potatoes on top.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg
Lunch: Tuna salad (same as yesterday) with avocado, spaghetti squash, mixed greens and some purple potatoes and carrots.

Dinner: Frittata with zucchini, tomatoes, onions and kale with avocado and mixed greens.

FullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender-1.jpg

Today’s Random Tidbits:

  • If you’re doing the Whole30, find ways to make your plate pretty and packed with color, most people psychologically eat with their eyes first.
  • I’m going to a bar tonight, but alcohol doesn’t have the same pull on me as donuts, so I’m hopeful I will be okay. I’m hoping they have hot water, so I can bring my own teabags, though for some herbal tea.
  • Tomorrow is the first time I will attempt at dining at a restaurant, I am prepared and I am bringing a backup meal.
One thought on “Eat with your Eyes!

Leave a Reply

